Artist-in-Residence 2021

Artist-in-Residence
2021

Nezaket Ekici • Abrie Fourie • Tosin Otitoju

Akinbode Akinbiyi

Curator

AKINBODE AKINBIYI (* 1946 in Oxford) is a chronicler of daily life who is more interested in “everydaylifeness” rather than the everyday. He has been working as a photographer and author since the early 1970s. His artistic focus is on the large urban agglomerations and megacities, especially on the African continent. He moves like a flaneur on main and side streets through the everyday life of these cities, their shopping centers and amusement facilities, in order to make recordings that bring the vibrancy of these conflict-laden rooms to life. Akinbiyi turns his attention to the rituals of everyday politics, spirituality and humanity beyond the shiny surfaces of constructed identities. He seeks, consciously or unconsciously, for breaks in our everyday life. His work is exhibited and published worldwide. In 2016 he was awarded the Goethe Medal. Most recently, his work was on view in a monographic exhibition at the Gropius Bau Berlin (February 7th – July 19th, 2020). He lives and works in Berlin.

Akinbode on his selection for this year’s Artist-In-Residence-Program

 

The fundamental precept is that of an open-ended conversation, of what is opera, of what this art form can be out in the sparse landscape of the Sahel. Open-ended voices speaking out and stating their ideas, visions, understandings. Song, theatre, intricate scenarios, bodies moving gracefully in the afternoon heat of the dusty, rock strewn paths, performative masquerades gesticulating into tightly strung marionettes, dangling exquisitely on improvised stages.

Baobab trees asserting their presence, demanding recognition of underground currents and the upward thrusting weave of their branches. The opera is all of these and much, much more, an inclusive will of expression, formed out from incalculable sources.

The residency at the Village Opera is an essential aspect of this constantly ongoing conversation, creative personalities engaging intimately with the immediate surroundings, the vibrancy of the deeply embedded Sahel. This engagement too is open-ended, can evolve in any which way is desired. Important is the stay at the village, imbibing the everyday of the small community. The clinic, the school, the few inhabitants living in the spaciously designed single units.  There is a sense of the round, of entering into a large, widely spread flat amphitheatre, the dwelling units looking out at each other from the near distance.

Animal sounds, birdsong envelope the round, draw out into the immediate landscape, rocky outcrops, sparse vegetation. These are the fundaments of the operatic chords, the beginnings of creative impulses that ideally should engage the invited residents. Conversations that go on well into the night, into the late hours of serendipity and happenstance. The village is quiet then, a stillness that still resonates, that suddenly at dawn breaks out in resplendent birdsong, filling the air with their operatic arias. 

It is when the conversation is mutual, both sides listening carefully to each other, taking in the ideas and precepts coming in from the other, that the residency has achieved a certain goal. On the one side, the endless stream of creativity and will to form, on the other, and coming out intensely from the sahelian landscape, her deeply layered strata of resonances and open-ended operatic chords. A vibrancy that embraces overwhelmingly those prepared to open up and listen in.

Nezaket Ekici

NEZAKET EKICI (* 1970 in Kirsehir, Turkey) is a performance artist living and working in Germany. Ekici’s impressive and energetic happenings combine humour with moments of pain and always demand a high level of physical endurance. Each performance is based on a task, which Ekici attempts again and again until she reaches a set goal or reaches a level of complete exhaustion. Although each performance is planned in advance, factors beyond the artist’s control affect its realisation to allow a place for risk and the possibility of failure. Ekici’s videos, installations and performances combine controversial content with aestheticising representation. A central role in her work is the tension between her Turkish origins and upbringing on the one hand and her living environment in Germany.

After graduating in sculpture from the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, she studied art at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Braunschweig and completed her master’s degree under her professor Marina Abramovic in 2004. She had her first retrospective at the Marta Herfrod in 2011/12. She was a fellow at the Tarabya Cultural Academy in Istanbul in 2013 and a fellow at the German Academy Villa Massimo in Rome in 2016. In 2018 she received the Paula Modersohn-Becker Art Prize, and in 2020 she was selected for the Berlin Senate Cultural Exchange Scholarship to participate in the ISCP residency programme in New York. Recent solo exhibitions include Haus am Waldsee, Berlin (2015), Villa Massimo, KAS Foundation Berlin (both 2017) and Neue Kunstverein Gießen (2020).

Website
Instagram

Nezaket about her participation in the Opera Village Residency

 

I find Africa very fascinating. I have already had the opportunity to develop art projects in Ghana and Nigeria on themes such as food, religion and dance. I am even more excited to get to know Burkina Faso, a new African country – to get to know the country, the people, the culture but especially the village Opera.

During my stay as artist-in-residence in the Opera Village, I would especially like to work with the local population. It is a great opportunity for me to get an insight into the school and the hospital. It would be wonderful to do a performance workshop with the children, the staff and also with the patients if possible, and to develop a performance with them. I am looking forward to getting to know the cultural scene in Burkina Faso. I would like to design and create costumes with local designers, meet performing artists, exchange with visual artists, dancers and develop projects together.

I am very grateful to the organization and the people in charge of the opera village for this opportunity!

Abrie Fourie

ABRIE FOURIE (*1969 in Petroria) is a South African photographer. Born in Petroria, he studied and worked there until he emigrated to Germany in 2007. Today he lives and works in Berlin. In addition to his work as a photographer, Fourie is also active as a curator and lecturer. For example, he has been the curator of the Modern Art Projects South Africa MAP-SOUTHAFRICA.ORG since 2005.

Fourie’s work is characterized by his documentary, spontaneous and sober approach to the moments and circumstances of everyday life. Many of his photographs have the appearance of snapshots, others show deserted places in their bare existence. Fourie finds a charm in the plastic qualities of his subjects, which, although inanimate objects, always have a unique form.

Unique exhibitions of his work have been held at the Museum for African Art, New York (2004) and at where-we-r.com, Forum d’art Contemporain, Sierre, Switzerland (2006), among others. Recent exhibitions include the long-term project OBLIQUE, presented at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2012), Johannesburg Art Gallery, South Africa (2012), Iwalewhaus Bayreuth (2012), SCAD Atlanta (2014) and Fried Contemporary in Pretoria (2016).

WEBSITE
INSTAGRAM

 

Abrie about his participation in the Opera Village Residency

 

I am honored to be invited to this year’s Opera Africa Village Resident Artist Program, and I look forward to being present, embodied and inspired as a resident artist at the village. During my stay, I will continue my work around ‘walking’, drawing on new approaches and awarenesses that will emerge from my interactions and connections with this place.

Tosin Otitoju

TOSIN OTITOJU (* in Lagos) is a writer, actress and blogger. In addition to publishing numerous collections of poetry and short stories, she has published the novel “Three Sisters”, which tells the story of three women in the countryside. She has also been involved in several theatre productions since 2002, both as an actress on stage and as a costume designer behind the scenes. Since 2004, she has started several blogs, especially for her other passions: mathematics and teaching. In 2011, she was an Ebedi International Residency Fellow. She lives and works mainly in Lagos.

Tosin about her participation in the Opera Village Residency

 

During the residency I hope to develop projects for the near future, including poems for my next collection entitled ‘Velvet’, in which I reflect on aesthetics and texture, and a few chapters of the novel ‘YA’, which is about the lives of four young people today. I very much hope to involve the children and the surrounding community in my work, and I would like to explore the possibilities of the Village Opera library. Thank you so much for inviting me to Village Opera! I am really looking forward to it.

The Artist-in-Residence 2021 was created with the kind support of:

Artist-in-Residence 2021

Artist-in-Residence
2021

Nezaket Ekici • Abrie Fourie • Tosin Otitoju

Akinbode Akinbiyi

Kurator

Akinbode Akinbiyi (*1946 in Oxford) ist ein Chronist des täglichen Lebens, der sich mehr für das Alltagsleben interessiert als für das Alltägliche. Seit Anfang der 1970er Jahre arbeitet er als Fotograf und Autor. Sein künstlerischer Fokus liegt auf den großen urbanen Ballungsräumen und Megastädten vor allem des afrikanischen Kontinents. Dabei bewegt er sich wie ein Spaziergänger auf Haupt- und Nebenstraßen durch den Alltag dieser Städte, durch ihre Einkaufszentren und Vergnügungseinrichtungen, um Aufnahmen zu machen, die die Lebendigkeit dieser konfliktbeladenen Räume gewissermaßen zum Klingen bringen. Akinbiyi richtet seine Aufmerksamkeit auf die Rituale alltäglicher Politik, Spiritualität und Menschlichkeit jenseits der glänzenden Oberflächen konstruierter Identitäten. Er sucht, bewusst oder unbewusst, nach Brüchen in unserem Alltagsleben. Seine Arbeiten werden weltweit ausgestellt und veröffentlicht. 2016 wurde er mit der Goethe-Medaille ausgezeichnet. Zuletzt waren seine Arbeiten in einer monographischen Ausstellung im Gropius Bau Berlin zu sehen (07.02.-19.07.2020). Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Akinbode über seine Künstlerauswahl für die Operndorf-Residenz

 

Der Grundgedanke ist der eines ergebnisoffenen Gesprächs darüber, was Oper ist, was diese Kunstform in der kargen Landschaft der Sahelzone sein kann. Offene Stimmen, die sich zu Wort melden und ihre Ideen, Visionen und Vorstellungen darlegen. Gesang, Theater, komplizierte Szenarien, Körper, die sich in der Nachmittagshitze der staubigen, mit Steinen übersäten Pfade anmutig bewegen, performative Maskeraden, die sich mit Gesten zu straff gespannten Marionetten formen, die auf improvisierten Bühnen exquisit baumeln. Baobab-Bäume, die ihre Präsenz behaupten und die Anerkennung der unterirdischen Ströme und des nach oben strebenden Geflechts ihrer Äste fordern. Die Oper ist all dies und noch viel, viel mehr, ein umfassender Ausdruckswille, der sich aus unberechenbaren Quellen zusammensetzt.

Die Residenz in der Operndorf Afrika ist ein wesentlicher Aspekt dieser ständig andauernden Konversation, in der sich kreative Persönlichkeiten eng mit der unmittelbaren Umgebung, der Lebendigkeit der tief eingebetteten Sahelzone, auseinandersetzen. Auch dieses Engagement ist ergebnisoffen und kann sich in jede gewünschte Richtung entwickeln. Wichtig ist der Aufenthalt im Dorf, das Eintauchen in den Alltag der kleinen Gemeinschaft. Die Klinik, die Schule, die wenigen Bewohner, die in den großzügig angelegten Einzelhäusern leben.  Man fühlt sich rund, betritt ein großes, weitläufiges, flaches Amphitheater, die Wohneinheiten schauen sich aus der Nähe an.

Tierlaute, Vogelgezwitscher umhüllen das Rund, ziehen hinaus in die unmittelbare Landschaft, Felsen, spärliche Vegetation. Das sind die Grundlagen der Opernakkorde, die Anfänge kreativer Impulse, die im Idealfall die eingeladenen Bewohner einbeziehen sollen. Gespräche, die sich bis weit in die Nacht hinein fortsetzen, bis in die späten Stunden des Glücks und des Zufalls. Dann ist es still im Dorf, eine Stille, die immer noch nachhallt, die plötzlich im Morgengrauen in strahlenden Vogelgesang ausbricht und die Luft mit ihren Opernarien erfüllt.

Wenn das Gespräch auf Gegenseitigkeit beruht, wenn beide Seiten einander aufmerksam zuhören und die Ideen und Vorschriften des anderen aufnehmen, dann hat der Aufenthalt ein bestimmtes Ziel erreicht. Auf der einen Seite der unendliche Strom von Kreativität und Gestaltungswillen, auf der anderen Seite die aus der sahelischen Landschaft intensiv hervorgehenden, tief geschichteten Schichten von Resonanzen und offenen Opernakkorden. Eine Lebendigkeit, die denjenigen, der bereit ist, sich zu öffnen und hineinzuhören, überwältigend umarmt.

Nezaket Ekici

Nezaket Ekici (* 1970 in Kirsehir, Türkei) ist eine in Deutschland lebende und arbeitende Performancekünstlerin. Ekicis eindrückliche und energetische Happenings kombinieren Humor mit Momenten des Schmerzes und fordern stets eine hohe körperliche Ausdauer. Jeder Performance liegt eine Aufgabe zugrunde, die Ekici wieder und wieder versucht, bis sie ein gestecktes Ziel erreicht oder einen Grad der völligen Erschöpfung erreicht. Obwohl jede Performance im Voraus geplant ist, wirken sich Faktoren, die außerhalb der Kontrolle der Künstlerin liegen, auf ihre Realisierung aus, um dem Risiko und der Möglichkeit des Scheiterns einen Platz einzuräumen. Ekicis Videos, Installationen und Performances verbinden kontroverse Inhalte mit einer ästhetisierenden Darstellung. Dabei spielt das Spannungsfeld zwischen ihrer türkischen Herkunft und Erziehung auf der einen und ihrem Lebensumfeld in Deutschland auf der anderen Seite eine zentrale Rolle.

Nach ihrem Abschluss in Bildhauerei an der Akademie der schönen Künste in München studierte sie Kunst an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Braunschweig und schloss ihr Meisterschülerstudium 2004 unter ihrer Professorin Marina Abramovic ab. Ihre erste Retrospektive hatte sie 2011/12 am Marta Herfrod. Sie war 2013 Stipendiatin in der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Istanbul und 2016 Stipendiatin der Deutschen Akademie Villa Massimo in Rom. 2018 erhielt sie den Paula Modersohn-Becker-Kunstpreis, 2020 wurde Sie für das Kulturaustauschstipendium des Berliner Senats für die Teilnahme am Residenzprogramm des ISCP in New York ausgewählt. Neueste Einzelausstellungen fanden unter anderem im Haus am Waldsee, Berlin (2015), der Villa Massimo, der KAS Foundation Berlin (beide 2017) und im Neuen Kunstverein Gießen (2020) statt.

Website
Instagram

Nezaket über ihre Teilnahme an der Operndorf-Residenz

 

Ich finde Afrika sehr  faszinierend. Ich hatte bereits die Gelegenheit, in Ghana und Nigeria künstlerische Projekte zu Themen wie Essen, Religion und Tanz zu entwickeln.
Umso mehr freue ich mich nun mit Burkina Faso ein neues afrikanisches Land, die Menschen, die Kultur aber vor allem auch das Operndorf kennenzulernen.

Während meines Aufenthaltes im Operndorf möchte ich vor Allem mit den Menschen vor Ort arbeiten. Es ist für mich eine tolle Möglichkeit, einen Blick in die Schule und das Krankenhaus zu werfen. Es wäre wundervoll, den Kindern, Mitarbeitern und auch nach Möglichkeit mit den Patienten Workshops durchzuführen und mit Ihnen gemeinsam eine Performance zu entwickeln.
Ich bin sehr neugierig auf die Kulturszene von Burkina Faso. Gerne würde ich mit lokalen Designern Kostüme entwerfen und erstellen, andere Performance-Künstler kennenlernen, mich mit bildenden Künstlern, Tänzern austauschen und gemeinsam Projekte entwickeln.
Ich danke der Organisation und Verantwortlichen des Operndorfs sehr für diese Gelegenheit!

Abrie Fourie

(*1969 in Petroria) ist ein südafrikanischer Fotograf. In Petroria geboren, hat er dort studiert und gearbeitet, bis er 2007 nach Deutschland emigrierte. Heute lebt und arbeitet er in Berlin. Neben seiner fotografischen Arbeit betätigt sich Fourie als Kurator und Dozent, beispiels­weise ist er seit 2005 Kurator des Modern Art Projects South Africa map-southafrica.org.

Fouries Werk zeichnet sich durch seine dokumentarische, spontane sowie nüchterne Annäherung an Alltagsmo­mente und Gegebenheiten aus. Zahlreiche seiner Fotografien haben den Anschein von Schnappschüssen; andere zeigen menschenleere Orte in ihrem nackten Dasein. Fourie findet einen Reiz in den plastischen Qualitäten seiner Motive, die, obgleich leblose Objekte, stets eine individuelle Gestalt präsentieren.

Einzelausstellungen seiner Werke wurden unter Anderem im Museum for African Art, New York (2004) und where-we-r.com, Forum d’art Contemporian, Sierre, Schweiz (2006). Neuere Aussstellungen behandeln das Langzeitprojekt OBLIQUE, gezeigt im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2012); der Johannesburg Art Gal­lery, Südafrika (2012); dem Iwalewhaus in Bayreuth (2012); SCAD, Atlanta (2014) und Fried Contemporary in Pretoria (2016).

 

Website
Instagram

Abrie über seine Teilnahme an der Operndorf-Residenz

Tosin Otitoju

Tosin Otitoju (* in Lagos) ist Schriftstellerin, Schauspielerin und Bloggerin. Neben der Publikation von zahlreichen Gedichtsammlungen und Kurzgeschichten hat sie den Roman „Three Sisters“ veröffentlicht, der vom Leben dreier Frauen auf dem Lande handelt. Außerdem ist sie seit 2002 an mehreren Theaterproduktionen beteiligt, sowohl als Schauspielerin vor und als Kostümassistentin hinter der Bühne. Seit 2004 hat sie mehrere Blogs ins Leben gerufen, darunter auch für ihre anderen Leidenschaften; Mathematik und Lehre. 2011 war sie Stipendiatin der Ebedi International Residency. Sie lebt und arbeitet hauptsächlich in Lagos.

Blog

Tosin über ihre Teilnahme an der Operndorf-Residenz

 

Während der Residenz hoffe ich, Projekte für die nahe Zukunft entwickeln zu können, vor allem Gedichte für meine nächste Sammlung mit dem Titel „Velvet“, in dem ich Ästhetik und Textur reflektiere, sowie einige Kapitel des Romans „YA“, der von den Leben vier Jugendlicher von Heute handelt. Ich hoffe sehr, dass ich die Kinder und die umliegende Bevölkerung an meiner Arbeit beteiligen kann, und würde gerne die Möglichkeiten der Bibliothek im Operndorf erkunden. Vielen Dank für die Einladung ins Operndorf! Ich freue mich schon sehr darauf.

Die Künstlerresidenz Jahrgang 2021 entstand mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch: