THE FUTURE IS AFRICA
African Film Festival for
Children and Youth
27.10. – 04.11.2021
At BABYLON Kino Berlin

THE FUTURE IS AFRICA is a children’s and youth film festival featuring contributions from Africa and the African diaspora. British curator June Givanni has put together a program of nearly 30 short and feature-length films that tell their stories mostly from the perspective of children and young people. They address themes of identity, diaspora, coming of age and heroism through stylistic devices such as documentary, portrait, magical realism and Afrofuturism. The selection includes classics of African cinema such as Gaston Kaboré’s Wend Kuuni (1992) as well as recent films such as Larry Achiampong’s Reliquary 2 (2020) and Adeyemi Michael’s futuristic short The Future Isn’t What It Used To Be (2021).

Decolonizing the Western view of Africa has historically been the main task of African cinema as one of the most important artistic media. Thus, for many years, films for children and young people have been increasingly produced, mainly written and produced by an equally young generation of filmmakers who want to show, make aware and thus change the everyday reality of those.

In addition to the regular festival program, one of the highlights of which is the German premiere of the drama The Murder of Stephen Lawrence, by award-winning British TV and film director Alrick Riley (‘Bridgerton’), free screenings are offered for Berlin school classes. Because film, like no other medium, has the potential to encourage critical thinking, stimulate dialogue and shape images of the world and people. By cooperating with Berlin schools, we are trying to facilitate precisely this discussion.

Registration is still open until 22.10.21 via Opera Village Africa: festspielhaus@schlingensief.com.

Program and Tickets soon here:

The project is produced in cooperation with Archive Berlin, the June Givanni Pan African Cinema Archive and Babylon Berlin. Funded by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

THE FUTURE IS AFRICA
African Film Festival for
Children and Youth
27.10. – 04.11.2021
Im BABYLON Kino Berlin

THE FUTURE IS AFRICA ist ein Kinder- und Jugendfilmfestival mit Beiträgen aus Afrika und der afrikanischen Diaspora. Die britische Kuratorin June Givanni hat ein Programm aus nahezu 30 Kurz- und Langfilmen zusammengestellt, die ihre Geschichten zumeist aus der Sicht von Kin­dern und Jugendlichen erzählen. Sie behandeln Themen wie Identität, Diaspora, Erwachsenwerden oder Heldentum mit den Stilmitteln wie Dokumentation, Portrait, magi­schem Realismus und Afrofuturismus. Die Auswahl schließt Klassiker des afrikanischen Kinos wie Gaston Kaborés Wend Kuuni (1992) sowie aktuelle Filme wie Larry Achiampongs Reliquary 2 (2020) und Adeyemi Michaels futuristischen Kurzfilm The Future Isn’t What It Used To Be (2021) ein.

Den westlichen Blick auf Afrika zu dekolonialisieren ist historisch gesehen die Hauptaufgabe des afrikanischen Kinos als eines der wichtigsten künstlerischen Medien. So entstehen seit vielen Jahren vermehrt Filme für Kinder und Jugendliche, vorwiegend geschrieben und produziert von einer ebenso jungen Generation von FilmemacherInnen, die die Alltagsrealität derer zeigen, bewusst machen und damit verändern wollen.

Neben dem regulären Festivalprogramm, zu dessen Höhepunkt die Deutschland-Premiere des Dramas The Murder of Stephen Lawrence, des preisgekrönten britischen TV- und Filmregisseurs Alrick Riley (‚Bridgerton‘) gehört, werden kostenlose Screenings für Berliner Schulkassen angeboten. Denn Film hat wie kein anderes Medium das Potenzial, kritisches Denken zu fördern, Dialoge anzuregen und Welt- und Menschenbilder zu formen. Durch das Kooperieren mit Berliner Schulen versuchen wir gerade diese Diskussion zu ermöglichen.

Die Anmeldung erfolgt noch bis 22.10.21 über das Operndorf Afrika: festspielhaus@schlingensief.com.

Programm und Tickets zum Festival hier:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Das Projekt entsteht in Kooperation mit Archive Berlin, dem June Givanni Pan African Cinema Archive und Babylon Berlin. Gefördert aus den Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds.